Alliance Discord server- pros and cons? Also Q

Hello folks, my alliance has been looking for a better way to communicate, especially for conquests.  The argument could be made that there should be a better in-game feature (and I agree!), but we’ve decided to try out other options while we are “waiting for that to happen”…  I remember awhile back there was a link to Discord pinned by the old CM, but I haven’t seen it in awhile.  I know there are many teams that use discord for their alliances.  Could you name the pros and cons of using discord?  I got the general gist of it, but I’ve never done this sort of thing before.  I’ve created a channel, but can’t get the overlay to pop up for the game.  I was hoping to get some things up and running before presenting it to the team at-large, but I’m not quite understanding it myself in order to answer questions.  We have a very active alliance, but towards the end of the CQ, you could tell patience was wearing thin.   We want the team to be able to give their input and feedback on things much easier, and if we can get everyone to sign up for this, we should be golden.  The problem is the overlay was my “selling point” and I can’t get it to work.  I’ve tried the tutorials and videos, and have done what all was said- bit still no overlay.

So, to anyone here who has set up a discord server for their team, what could I be doing wrong?  I am on Windows 10 pc, and use the RR2 app that came with laptop.  I’ve also logged in through the xbox app on the laptop.  Neither bring the overlay to the game.  I understand some of you prefer line or something else, but I’ve invested the time into this- I’d like to give it a shot.

Thanks, KT4

Hi @KingThunderbolt4