Inactive members

How long does it take to be placed as Inactive? Is it a week or a longer? 

Also, how can you tell if a member is on the same time you are? If they arent talking in the chat, how can we tell if they are on?

Is there a way to send a member a PM?

Im new to being a clan leader so i dont know much about how this game works. Any help and or tips on how to get a hold of the

members to help fight in the Alliance wars. Thanks. 

Thanks so much for the answers and tips. I try to talk to everyone in chat, and let them know if they need help or have questions on how to 

participate in war, to let me know and i will guide them through the process. 

Here is another question. I do have a few Generals. How can i tell WHO activated a boost?

SO far i only see that the Boost was activated. 

You cannot see who activated the boost.
take Pellez advice above, don’t give general to players you don’t trust… if you cant trust them to not activate boosts, there is a lot worse they can do.

Give to each general a role, for example 2 generals activate and prolong boosts, 2 more general instead recruit players and so on, so you know who does what. 

You can always ask in a friendly way who activated a specific boost. Whatever you do, stay calm and polite. In my first alliance that leader acted like a dictator, he really got upset and his language caused terror and panic amongst generals. That’s never the way to do it.

Just ask in a friendly way and explain why a certain boost should not be activated. Reasons for example are costing a lot of gold, useless boost that even don’t help majority of members (or better said, only help a few members), preventing you to upgrade alliance (better and stronger boosts!).

@Fourofjacks is right, they could have done much worse. Activating boosts is only costing gold. That can be replaced. A bad general also could have kicked all soldiers.