Knights or Paladins?

I’m pretty new to the game (1500 trophies) and I’ve been using Paladins from day one as Knights seem so weak. I’ve recently found this forum and everyone seems to be in love with Knights. Is this because the knight is so cheap and can be the focus of tower / troop damage?

When fully upgraded, do Knights outclass Paladins?

Also on D, most spells 1 hit Knights at my level. The defensive aspect also seems to suggest that Knight is no good at the early levels because of this.

I’d love to hear some good offensive / defensive recommendation for my level. Hopefully something that would carry on to the mid and high lvl game.

It’s certainly true that at low-level gameplay paladins are much better than knights.

I would recommend you to use paladins and frosters (I believe that for now you only have 2 troop slots) until you get to a trophy rank of ~2500.

At that level I assume you would have unlocked Shield spell which goes great with knights because you can take less damage covering between them, as its easy to summon lots of them. I would advice you to use froster here too, because it is one of the best unboosted troops there is. It’s a good idea to keep upgrading knights, archers, and frosters because they will be usefull in almost all trophy ranges.

It’s a good idea to test lots of combinations in difficult bases of your alliance so you can beat different kind of bases. Besides that period of time is really interesting because you can use different troop and spell combinations…as you get ranked higher, the troops-spell “palette” becomes smaller and you will end up using one or two combinations.

Back then in summer 2014 when I started the game, I always preferred knights over paladins on offense, for knights are faster, cheaper and more flexible.