Question about reward system

Hello guys! I have been playing this game for soon two months time and I’ve been noticing it just becomes harder and harder to feel rewarded. Firstly, all upgrades take longer time and cost more meanwhile, the gold I now get from battles seem to have diminished by half or more since the last 10 levels.

Im lvl 75 with 1182 trophy’s. What I don’t understand is that after hitting lvl 70 and trophy staying the same, almost all of my matches in battle seem to only reward me 10-30k gold. I could spend like 50k just to draft someone with 200k now and that’s usually a celestial phoebe guy. 

Every guy rewards 28 medals, no matter if they are lvl 15 or 100 and have 700-1600 trophies? Some really rare times a guy pops up that rewards 800k gold, 1450 trophies and 250 medals for a win. How is this possible?

Im just really frustrated because I don’t understand the algorithm behind this game. It shouldn’t be as rewarding for me to attack low lvl guys and get the same rewards as someone a lot stronger than me? 

Like I said, since hitting lvl 70 my base building have stopped. I have to do around 20 victories to get 1-2 million gold and I can only upgrade my taverns and farms. I can forget to upgrade my castle gate for 8 million. As soon as I go offline with some million gold people steal 450k from a win.

I get the feeling that this game pushes you into pay-to-win and I almost never enjoy it anymore. It was super fun up to lvl 60 something. Am I doing something wrong or should I just admit defeat if I can’t pay any money for gems and stuff? 

Try players in the 2000 trophy range using search function, you may find players giving more gold say like 300,000, you wont win but even if you complete 30 to 50 % you will get almost half the rewards 150,000 plus gear + kaiser gold bonus % plus your alliance gold %, which can amount to 200,000 per battle. Let me know if it works.