Some Conquest Feedback

I’m new to the game, only been playing for a month.  I’m lvl 70, 1400 trophies, Sergeant in a mid-600’s alliance.  We competed the last two events in the Veteran Scouts tier.  Like most forums, these are seemingly dominated by the top 1-5% of players, so here’s a perspective from a more “average” player.

I think Conquest is the best part of this game. Since I started playing, I’ve recruited 6 friends to the game, and maybe 1-2 would have joined were it not for Conquest.  There are a million F2P mobile games where you play a reskinned version of Farmville, but very few that have a neat cooperative strategy mode like conquest. [Pro league seems pretty cool too, but I haven’t tried it yet.  The fact that only a few players can complete it despite everyone having equal gear shows this game has a decent skill component and isn’t purely pay2win.]

1. Conquest seems to last a little too long.  Both Conquests were basically decided with more than a day to go.
  2. Making treaties between Alliances seems kinda lame and against the spirit of the mode.  Last time, we fought two Polish alliances that I’m pretty sure had a pact of some sort, as I never saw them attack each other and they just spent all their time attacking the other two.  They were geographically adjacent and vying for 1st and 2nd place, often separated by only a few points, so it didn’t really make strategic sense for them to have all their kings deployed beating up the 3rd and 4th place teams.
  3. Our alliance ranges from 900-3000 trophies and lvl 20-105, and I love that there is a role for weaker players in conquest.  They can scout, they can try to tie up strong players for a few hours.  It’s nice that everyone can participate somehow.
  4. It seems kind of lame that you can practice against a base by looking up someone’s name, and it’s borderline unfair if their name contains characters your keyboard doesn’t even have.